Cristiano Ronaldo Wins World Footballer of the Year

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has been named world footballer of the year after winning the Ballon d’Or for the second year in a row.
 Nadine Kessler, Germany midfielder was named women’s player of the year, while Colombia’s James Rodriguez won goal of the year.
 Germany's World Cup winner Joachim Low won men's coach of the year.
 Wolfsburg Women’s boss Ralf Kellermann was equally named FIFA female Coach of the Year after a successful defence of the Champions League
The Portugal captain beat Barcelona forward Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer to the award.
The three candidates for the Ballon d'Or were all selected in the team of the year, along with defenders Philipp Lahm,  Thiago Silva David Luiz and Sergio Ramos, midfielders Angel Di Maria, Andres Iniesta, and Toni Kroos and and forward Arjen Robben.
Cristiano Ronaldo successfully defended his world player of the year status credibly with 37.66% of all votes, winning for a third time. Barcelona and Argentina counterpart Lionel Messi - who won four years in a row, was second on 15.76%. Bayern Munich and Germany keeper Manuel Neuer, had 15.72%.
Ronaldo, who scored 52 goals in 43 games during 2014, looked emotional when collecting the award from former France, Barcelona and Arsenal striker Thierry Henry.
The 29-year-old said: "I would like to thank all of those who voted for me, my president, my coach and Real Madrid. It has been an unforgettable year. To win this trophy at the end of it is something incredibly unique."