Zakari Replaces Jega as Acting INEC Chairman

Prof. Attahiru Jega on Tuesday June 30, 2015 left office as the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission INEC.
Subsequently, Mrs. Amina Bala Zakari, has been appointed as the acting chairman of INEC by President Muhammadu Buhari.
Zakari, the first female to inhabit the position albeit in an acting capacity, was until Tuesday, a National Electoral Commissioner at INEC.
A statement given by the Director Communications in the Office of Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Alhaji Haruna Imrana, on behalf of the HoS, Mr. Danladi Kifasi, confirmed the appointment.
Kifasi said Zakari’s appointment was to take immediately and would subsist from June 30, 2015 pending to the appointment of a substantive chairman.
Jega was appointed the chairman of the commission by former President Goodluck Jonathan on June 30, 2010 and he conducted two elections in 2011 and 2015.
While speaking briefly at the end of the closed-door handing over ceremony at the commission in Abuja, Jega He said, he feels great and he thank God Almighty for the opportunity to serve the country; adding that the future is bright for the commission and the country.
Jega said, “In whatever we have achieved, we should keep it up and do more”.
Jega left the commission with six national commissioners whose tenure also expired on Tuesday.
The other six national commissioners who left with him were Col. M.K. Hammanga (retd.), Adamawa State, (North-East); Dr. Ishmael Igbani, Rivers State, (South-South); Prof. Lai Olurode, Osun State, (South-West); Dame Gladys Nwafor, Abia State, (South-East); Mrs. Thelma Amata Iremiren, Delta State, (South-South); and Dr. Nuru Yakubu, Yobe State, (North-East).